Air Serbia first signatory of IATA Safety charter


The International Air Transport Association (IATA) has launched the IATA Safety Leadership Charter aimed at strengthening organisational safety culture through commitment to eight key safety leadership guiding principles. It was developed in consultation with IATA members and the wider aviation community to support industry executives in evolving a positive safety culture within their organisations. Air Serbia has become the first signatory of the charter, along with 21 other carriers. They include Air Canada, Emirates, Philippine Airlines, Air India, Ethiopian Airlines, Qantas, EVA Air, Qatar Airways, ANA, Garuda Indonesia, TAROM, British Airways, Hainan Airlines, United Airlines, Carpatair, Japan Airlines, Vietnam Airlines, Cathay Pacific, Pegasus Airlines, Xiamen Airlines and Delta Air Lines. “Leadership matters. It’s the strongest factor affecting safety behavior. By signing up to the IATA Safety Leadership Charter, these industry leaders are visibly demonstrating their commitment to the criticality of safety culture within their own airlines and the need to continuously build on the work that has gone before”, IATA’s Director General, Willie Walsh, said.